Phantom Keys ‎– The Real Sounds Of, LP

Product code: O121
You will earn 11 points with this purchase

Ever since we first heard of these five angry young men from Spain, we badly wanted them to be part of the “Screaming Apple Family” and now we’re more than happy and honoured to present their amazing debut album “The Real Sounds Of” as a big favour to all you kiddies out there, who still dig that crazy cavemen beat of the swingin’ sixties.

The PHANTOM KEYS story starts a few years back in a small Galician coastal town (O Grove) when a bunch of hairy teenage weirdos try to emulate the looks and sounds of those ‘no hit wonders’ who made it onto all the obscure 60’s punk compilations, such as “Nuggets”, “Pebbles” and “Back from The Grave”. Very soon they became wellknown all over the country for their wylde & sweaty live appearances and were ready to record their first vinyl release for the way cool EL BEASTO record label. The result was the fantastic “Velvet illusions/In the summertime” 7” single, a true little masterpiece of authentic 60’s garage-punk, which turned out to be a great succes all over the globe and brought them the offers to play all the great places in Spain and Europe, some festivals in Italy and the U.K. and even the invitation to rock the legendary Cavern Club in Liverpool…Yeah!

After some lineup changes the PHANTOM KEYS decided to go for a more rhythm’n’blues oriented sound in the tradition of bands like the PRETTY THINGS, DOWNLINERS SECT, TELL TALE HEARTS and WYLDE MAMMOTHS, but still keeping up the good ole garage-punk spirit they got famous for and recorded their second 45, “Shut up Johnny / I want to be free”, which got sold out in almost no time, … just like the first one!!

Now, after having played countless memorable shows all across Europe with some of the best bands around, such as The SONICS, The OUTSIDERS, the LYRES and the FUZZTONES and being part of big garage-punk extravaganzas like Le Beat Bespoke and Primitive Fest, the PHANTOM KEYS are ready to present their first album. “The Real Sounds Of” is a hot, smokin’ platter of pure sixties-punk flavoured rhythm’n’blues and proves once again impressively that the PHANTOM KEYS are one of the biggest sensations on the scene today, still being the same bunch of crazy weirdos they were in the beginning.

Now comb your hair, iron your best suits and dresses, polish your boots and get ready to do the hip shake!! SCREAMING APPLE gives you …The Real Sounds of THE PHANTOM KEYS!!! A raw, unadulterated teenbeat mayhem!!!


Side A

1. Im still a mess

2. Twisted neck

3. Even if i try

4. Evil Eye

5. My last mistake

6. The drunk chicken walk

Side B

1. Corn Likker

2. Don't tell me lies

3. Land (o) Beat

4. It's better girl

5. Poor boy

6. I was true (but I won't be more)


Write a review and let shoppers know what you think of this product.

Brand Screaming Apple Records
Product Code O121
Weight 0.23kg